Jump to menu

Students and staff celebrated at annual Education Awards 2015

Wednesday 8 April 2015

Education Awards 2015 - the winners, highly commended and nominees

On Monday 23 March staff and students from across Queen Mary celebrated the Queen Mary Students’ Union Education Awards. The Education Awards bring together the Teaching awards and Course Reps awards to celebrate all of the good work that is taking place across Queen Mary.

The ceremony took place in the beautiful Drapers’ Hall, owned by the Drapers’ Company, who have a long association with Queen Mary. It was a glittering event attended students and staff, with musical entertainment from student Matthew Mahmoudi.

Principal Professor Simon Gaskell spoke at the ceremony, and awards were presented by Professors Susan Dilly, Vice Principal, Student Experience, Teaching and Learning, and Peter McOwan, Vice Principal, Public Engagement and Student Enterprise, and the Students’ Union Executive Officers - President Dola Osilaja, Vice-President Education Carolina Mantzalos, Vice-President Welfare Mashalle Asim and Vice-President BLSA Sam Rowles.

Course Rep of the Year, Dharshan Baskar, receives his award from the Principal, Professor Simon Gaskell

Masters student Dharshan Baskar, from the School of Business and Management, was awarded Course Rep of the Year. This is the first time a postgraduate course rep has been named Course Rep of the Year.

The Teacher of the Year award was given to Dr Laetitia Calabrese, French Language Instructor from the Department of French, in the School of Languages, Linguistics and Film. The students who nominated Dr Calabrese praised her patience and support for students and how she went out of her way to provide bespoke feedback to those she teaches, together with a programme of events which enrich the experience of her students.

This year, the ‘Unsung Hero’ award was introduced for the first time, recognising those members of staff who go the extra mile for students time and again. The award was won by Stephen Clarke, Security Officer for the ArtsTwo Building. Malcolm Fish, from the School of Medicine and Dentistry, and Rob Ellis, from the School of English and Drama, were also shortlisted for the Award. Steve received multiple nominations from students, with one saying: ‘Steve is a great guy who should be recognised for the happy aura he brings to campus each and every day.’

A list of the Course Rep winners is listed below. Congratulations to all those who received an award and those who were nominated, and thank you all those who made nominations. You can also view pictures from the evening on the Students’ Union’s Facebook page.

Professor Susan Dilly, Vice-Principal Student Experience, Teaching and Learning at Queen Mary said: ‘It is great that the categories, nominations and voting for the awards are entirely student led. The Education Awards give us the chance to celebrate QMUL's community approach to enhancing the student experience. It was wonderful to be able to celebrate the contributions of our teaching staff and our course reps together. This is my last Education Awards and I have been so pleased to see how they have developed in the hands of Students’ Union, and we are grateful to the Drapers’ Company for their long standing commitment and support of QMUL, not least in their offer to use their wonderful building to host this fantastic event.’

Carolina Mantzalos, Union Vice-President Education, and President Elect for 2015-16, commented on the ceremony: ‘Both staff and students who were nominated or won an award, were nominated by students across QMUL, which is demonstrative of the importance of how both staff and students have excelled this academic year. More importantly, these efforts and hard work of those nominated or winning an award, is key to the educational development of all at QMUL. The ceremony was truly inspirational and has made me very proud and thankful to have had the honour to work with many course reps and members of staff this past academic year.’

The event was concluded with a speech from Imran Hussein, the Union Vice President Education Elect. Imran was recently elected in the Union elections and will take over from Carolina in July 2015.

Course Rep awards on offer included Course Rep Contribution and Gold Contribution Awards, Course Rep Engagement Award, Course Rep Campaign Award, Course Rep Collaboration Award and Course Rep of the Year.

The student led Teaching Awards, which are awards for staff as nominated by students, included awards for Innovative Teaching, Assessment and Feedback, Postgraduate Teacher and Postgraduate Research Supervisor, Course Rep Champion, Support Staff Member of the Year and Teacher of the Year

Course Rep Awards

Daniel Bui Campaign Award - Assessment and Feedback
Riana PatelSchool of Medicine and DentistryCollaboration Award
Rebecca KassamSchool of Medicine and DentistryCollaboration Award
Ashish PandyaSchool of Medicine and DentistryCollaboration Award
William AtkinsSchool of Medicine and DentistryCollaboration Award
Paulo ArroyoFaculty of Science and EngineeringEngagement Award
Dharshan BaskarFaculty of Humanities and Social SciencesCourse Rep of the Year
Bookmark and Share