Jump to menu

Students and staff celebrated at annual Education Awards

Thursday 3 April 2014

Education Awards 2014

On Friday 14 March students and staff from across Queen Mary celebrated the QMSU Education Awards. The Education Awards bring together the Teaching awards and Course Reps awards to celebrate all of the good work that is taking place across Queen Mary. The ceremony took place in the beautiful Drapers’ Hall, owned by the Drapers’ Company, who have a long association with Queen Mary. It was a glittering event attended by over 100 students and staff with musical entertainment from students Courtney Cross and Matthew Mahmoudi.

Principal Professor Simon Gaskell spoke at the ceremony, and awards were presented by Professors Susan Dilly, Vice Principal Teaching and Learning, and Peter McOwan, Vice Principal External Affairs and Public Engagement, and the SU Sabbatical Officers, President Sarah Sarwar, Vice-President Education Gaby Dale Leal, Vice-President Welfare Kat Nordanger and Vice-President BLSA Ali Jawad.

Student Ambika Kumar, from the School of Biological and Chemical Sciences, was awarded Course Rep of the Year. Ambika, who is in the final year of her BSc Biomedical Sciences degree, was praised for her incredible dedication to the role.

Ambika spoke about winning Course Rep of the Year: ‘Having got so much out of the role of Course Rep already, winning the award was an added bonus. I was both shocked and privileged to get such an esteemed award. The Education Awards evening was a great night where I was able to reminisce with my fellow Course Reps about the year we have had and also make new friends.’ You can find out more from Ambika about being a course rep and what is has meant to her, and how you could get involved too.

The Teacher of the Year award was given to Dr Henri Huijberts, Reader in Control and Dynamics and Director of Taught Programmes from the School of Engineering and Material Sciences, for his outstanding commitment to resolving his students’ problems. Dr Huijberts received a number of nominations, with students praising his accessibility, prompt responses, commitment to resolving problems, ‘putting students first’ and generally ‘getting things done!’

A full list of the award winners is below. Congratulations to all those who received an award and those who were nominated, and thank you to the hundreds of people who made nominations.

Professor Susan Dilly, Vice-Principal Teaching and Learning at Queen Mary said: ‘It is great that the categories, nominations and voting for the awards are entirely student led. The Education Awards give us the chance to celebrate QM's community approach to enhancing the student experience. It was wonderful to be able to celebrate the contributions of our teaching staff and our course reps together.’

Gaby Dale Leal, Vice-President Education in the SU commented on the ceremony: ‘The Education Awards are a great testament to the collaboration between staff and students at Queen Mary and what great things can come from it.’

Course Rep awards included Course Rep Contribution and Gold Contribution Awards, Course Rep Engagement Award, Course Rep Campaign Award, Course Rep Collaboration Award and Course Rep of the Year.

The student led Teaching Awards, which are awards for academic staff as nominated by students, received 138 nominations and included awards for Innovative Teaching, Assessment and Feedback, Postgraduate Teacher and Postgraduate Research Supervisor, Course Rep Champion, Support Staff Member of the Year and Teacher of the Year.


Course Rep Awards

Course Rep of the Year: Ambika Kumar (Faculty of Science and Engineering)

Campaign Award (Assessment and Feedback): Kerrie Wilson (School of Medicine and Dentistry) and Aaron Braddy (School of Medicine and Dentistry)

Course Rep Engagement Award: David Hall (Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences)

Collaboration Award: Dentistry Course Reps and Dentistry Society - Sarah Hayter, Puja Kalawadia, Sameera Kapadia, Vanessa Legg and Ankur Patel

Over 80 course reps also received the Course Rep Contribution and Gold Contribution awards.


Teaching Awards

Teacher of the Year: Dr Henri Huijberts (School of Engineering and Material Sciences)  

Postgraduate Teacher Award: Eranjan Udayanga Padumadasa (whose home school is School of Law/Centre for Commercial Law Studies, but who also teaches in School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science and School of Business and Management)

Postgraduate Research Supervisor Award: Professor Richard Nichols (School of Biological and Chemical Sciences)

Academic Support Champion: Claudio Vallar (School of Economics)

Support Staff Member of the Year: Laura SeQueira (Advice and Counselling Service) and Lorna Ireland (School of Business and Management)

Assessment and Feedback Champion: Dr David Horne (School of Geography)

Innovative Teaching Award: Dr Danae Manika (School of Business and Management)

Course Rep Champion: Dr Linnaea Stockall (School of Languages, Linguistics and Film)

Learning Resource Champion: Dr Martina Deny (School of Languages, Linguistics and Film)

Bookmark and Share