Jump to menu

Students’ Union election results - Ali Jawad new BLSA President

Monday 25 March 2013

Nearly 3,000 students voted in the SU elections for fellow students to represent their interests and views. The elected candidates formally start their roles on 1 August 2013. Ali Jawad will take over from Andy Smith in August as the new BLSA President.

Ali Jawad’s manifesto pledged to support the needs of BL students in the areas of education and welfare, clubs and societies and continue to promote the GriffInn and Union. Ali will strive to maintain and improve student facitilies, exam feedback, ‘fit to sit’ policies and lobby the School to increase opportunities to be involved in research. He also intends to continye to fight for the autonomy of BL Sports.

Sarah Sawar was elected President, to a manifesto which included providing more careers support to students, making societies more accessible both financially and for “traditionally excluded groups”, supporting societies more, encouraging volunteering and enterprise, particularly within our local communities, and campaigning to expand library services.  

There were various categories of positions elected, including the Executive Officers (President and Vice Presidents), Student Trustees, NUS Delegates, Student Council members and some additional non-representative positions.

The Executive Officers, who represent students’ voices at the most senior level in the university whilst also directing the Union in the way students want it to be run and to suit their needs, were elected as follows:

President: Sarah Sawar (manifesto)
Vice President Education: Gaby Dale Leal (manifesto
Vice President Welfare: Katerina Nordanger (manifesto
Vice President Barts and The London/BLSA President: Ali Jawad (manifesto

Bookmark and Share